Risley Lower Grammar

Staff and Governors

Head Teacher: Mr Paul Bridgmount

TLR Curriculum Implementation and Training: Mrs Gemma Taylor (Foxes)

SENDCo: Miss Rebecca Turner (Squirrels)


Our classes are named after woodland animals. Class teachers' class names are shown here:

Class Teachers: Miss Laura Kirk (Rabbits), Mrs Ruth Howe (Hedgehogs),  Mr Clarke (Badgers), Mrs Vanessa Wardle and Miss Rebecca Turner (Squirrels).

Teaching Assistants Mrs Nina Scott, Mrs Christine Slaney, Mrs Jo Spencer, Mrs Michelle Thraves and Mrs Julie Walsh

School Business Officer: Mrs Julie Walsh

Senior Midday Supervisor: Mrs Jo Spencer

Midday Supervisors: Mrs Maggie Beardsley, Mrs Erin Bednall, Miss Rosanna Caine and Mrs Nina Scott 

Caretaker: Mr Gerard Mous

The school is supported and challenged by a governing body made up of volunteers from different groups. Parent governors are elected by parents of the school. The foundation governors are appointed by the local parish church. The head teacher and vicar are governors because of the posts that they hold. The staff governor is elected by school staff. The local authority appoint one member. Other members are co-opted by the governing body. We have one associate governor on our finance committee who has voting rights. It is planned that governors serve for four years from their appointment (date of appointment is recorded below for each governor). After four years they may stand for re-election, be co-opted or stand down. Governors have to declare any possible conflict of interest. Currently their are no conflicts declared.

Clerk to GovernorsJulie Walsh (paid position)

Chair of Governors: Marie Edinborough Co-opted Governor (April 2020)

Foundation Governors: Rev Phil Selby (9 July 2019) and Rev James Lee (1 June 2022)

LA Governor: Vacancy

Parent Governors: Rachel Cowlishaw (1 April 2022)

Co-opted GovernorsHelen Davison (19 March 2023) and Gemma Tovey (1 February 2022)

Staff Governors: Paul Bridgmount (Headteacher) and Gemma Taylor (15 July 2022)

Associate Governor: Rebekah Sherwood (19 March 2023)

Historic Governors (left within the last 12 months):

Meryl Lacey - Foundation governor (1 February 2021 -2 February 2023)

Michael Clarke - Staff governor (9 July 2018- 8 July 2022)

Roger Jones - Foundation governor (1 May 2018 - 30 April 2022)

Helen Percival - LA Governor ( 27 November 2018 - 26 November 2022)

Full Governing Body Terms of Reference - September 2022

We have a full governing body meeting each term and sub committee meetings in between the full meetings. The membership of the committees are set out below including who is the committee chair. The remit of each sub committee is indicated by the title of the committee. For example the behaviour and safety committee look strategically at pupil behaviour and the safety of all users of the school site. Complete remits for each committee are available on request from the school office for free.

Personal development, behaviour and welfare: Marie Edinborough, Paul Bridgmount, Gemma Taylor

Curriculum:  Paul Bridgmount, Helen Davison, Marie Edinborough, Rebekah Sherwood and Rev James Lee

Finance, Personnel and Premises: Helen Davison, Paul Bridgmount, Gemma Tovey and Rachel Cowlishaw

The terms of reference for the three main sub committees (above) are below:

FPP Committee Terms of Reference -September 2022

Curriculum Committee Terms of Reference - September 2022

Personal Development, Behaviour and Welfare Terms of Reference - September 2022

SIAMS Committee:  Rev Phil Selby, Rev James Lee, Meryl Lacey,  Michael Clarke and Vanessa Wardle. This is a collaboration between staff and governors.

SIAMS Committee Terms of Reference - September 2022

Head Teacher's Performance Management: Marie Edinborough, Rev Phil Selby and Helen Davison

This committee supports the professional development of the head teacher.

Pay: Helen Davison,  Gemma Tovey and Rachel Cowlishaw

The terms of reference for the pay committee can be read here:

Pay Committee Terms of Reference - November 2022 

Governance Annual Statement and Attendance Record 2021-2022



How you can contact the Governing Body.


The Chair of Governors, Mrs Marie Edinborough, can be contacted via the School Office who also holds a full list of governors and minutes of full governing body meeting.